How to stop travel to Canada: What you need to know

The federal government has suspended all border and air travel with the United States following the Trump administration’s ban on travellers from seven Muslim-majority countries, including Iraq, Syria, Iran, Sudan, Libya and Yemen.

The travel ban, announced on Friday, was prompted by an Islamic State attack in New York City that killed eight people and injured more than 50.

Canada has been on high alert since last year’s terror attack in Quebec City, Canada, when a man drove a truck through a crowd and killed four people and wounded nine.

In November, a man who had travelled to Syria and Iraq as a refugee pleaded guilty to murdering a British woman.

The government also suspended all immigration from the United Arab Emirates, the Maldives and the Yemen in response to the ban.

Canada’s temporary restrictions will remain in place until at least the end of the month.

They include a ban on citizens of Iraq, Iran and Sudan and a ban for nationals of Libya, Yemen and the United Kingdom.

More from GlobalPost: Canadian tourist suspended for wearing hijab to visit Mecca in US article In addition to barring Canadians from traveling to the United Nations General Assembly in New Orleans, Canada also suspended any travel from Iraq and Iran.

Canada’s travel ban was announced in a letter from Canada’s minister of immigration and multiculturalism, Chris Alexander, to the Canadian government’s cabinet on Friday.

“Canada will not be able to take any actions until all the relevant authorities have completed their work,” Alexander wrote.

“As a result, the government has made the decision to suspend travel restrictions to the U.S. until further notice.”

“I believe the temporary suspension of entry into Canada is the right and appropriate thing to do,” said Canadian Ambassador to the UN Nikki Haley.

“This will help the Canadian community feel safe, and I am grateful that the minister has been so clear in stating the steps that we need to take.”